Return to Tulane Website

Phi Beta Kappa

Calendar | Contacts | Tulane A to Z | Webmail


Main Menu

Karlem Riess Memorial Award

The Karlem Riess Memorial Award is a $500 cash award given to an outstanding Alpha of Louisiana inductee who has demonstrated a breadth of experience in the liberal arts and sciences. The award is named for Dr. Karlem “Ducky” Riess, who served as a member and officer of the Alpha of Louisiana chapter for more than half a century. Dr. Riess received his undergraduate degree from Tulane, and he returned to Tulane as a faculty member in physics after graduate study.

The seventh annual recipient of the Karlem Riess Memorial Award is Jennifer Triplett. According to one of her professors, Jennifer "is an outstanding student. She has been involved in sports, community outreach, development in Latin America, student interest groups, and advocacy and awareness groups, all while being a polite, smart, conscientious, and diligent student, eager to learn and improve her mind, unafraid to speak up in class. She is the type of student who reminds you that teaching is a privilege and an honor." Jennifer graduated in December 2012 and spent the spring of 2013 teaching English in Chile. She will be returing to Tulane in the Fall of 2013 to pursue a Master's degree.

2012 Recipient: Michelle Nguyen 2011 Recipient: Raina Heaton
2010 Recipient: Micah Bluming 2009 Recipient: Christopher Holdgraf
2008 Recipient: Carmella Vizza 2007 Recipient: Robert Tillman



Tulane Home space|spaceCopyrightspace|spaceFeedbackspace|spacePrivacy

Tulane UniversityNew Orleans, LA